Restaurant Review – Canopy Cafe

Website: http://www.canopycafe.net//

Address: 240 N. Pennsylvania Avenue, Suite 101, Winter Park, 32789

Phone: 407-628-0068

This is a very quaint little cafe near downtown Winter Park. It’s quite the opposite of what you can find on Park Avenue but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. There’s plenty of street parking and they have their own lot next to the cafe. It only seats about 40 people total with most tables seating 4-6. There is indoor and outdoor seating. The outdoor seating is covered and on brick, making the tables a bit unsteady but it’s nothing a few sugar packets can’t fix. I was there on a Sunday around 11am for brunch. Normally if I went anywhere else I would be waiting at least 15 minutes or more but I was able to sit immediately here with only 1 other guest at the time. It did start to fill up as I was leaving but no one was waiting. Keep in mind it was 2 days after Christmas so maybe many people were out of town. The staff was very attentive, giving me time to review the menu but I wasn’t kept waiting for their return. The food came out quite fast, but again, the cook wasn’t overwhelmed with orders coming in. The menu is the usual omelets, egg combos, waffles, French toast, pancakes, and Benedicts. They have mimosas as well.

Drinks:

IMG_2188[1]Mimosa – $5 

They offer flavored mimosas, including the traditional orange, peach, and cranberry. I opted for peach. I enjoy sweet things and this was perfect for me. It came in a large glass as well so it was a good value.

Definitely something I would order again.

 

Breakfast:

IMG_2189[1]

Country Benny – $8.99

A biscuit with a sausage patty and 2 poached eggs topped with sausage IMG_2194[1]gravy and comes with your choice of side. Choices were potatoes, grits, or fruit and I opted for hash browns. I cannot tell you how many times I have gone out and get stuck deciding whether to choose biscuits and gravy or eggs Benedict. When I saw this on the menu I knew it was just what I needed. The biscuit was buttery and dense, the sausage was cooked nicely with lots of flavor, the egg was perfectly runny just as a poached egg should be and the gravy had chunks of sausage and was very rich. The hash browns were cooked to my liking, not too burned and went great with the extra gravy. In hindsight, I might choose fruit next time only because the main meal was so decadent and it needed something a little lighter to accompany it but I was not at all disappointed and I would definitely get this again.

There are no nutrition facts available for this restaurant but I’m assuming they don’t skip the butter (or gravy) here.

Leave a Reply

